Shopaholic is the 2012 Angus Armanasco Stakes winner

February 25th, 2012

Shopaholic has continued her winning form with victory in the 2012 Angus Armanasco Stakes winner. The Group 2 race saw a field of 11 fillies compete over 1400m at Caulfield.

Backing-up from last weekend’s win in the Group 3 Vanity at Flemington, Shopaholic and jockey Glen Boss produced a solid run to win by a length from fellow last start winner and race favourite Soft Sand. Cute Emily was third ahead of Twilighting.

Trainer Danny O’Brien was full of praise for his high class filly.

“We ran her last week to have her cherry ripe for today,” O’Brien said.

Shopaholic’s next race will be the Group 2 AV Kewney Stakes at Flemington on Saturday 10th March 2012. Danny O’Brien confirmed after the race that the Kewnewy was next on the plan for Shopaholic and that he is also looking towards the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

Today’s win bring the career record for Shopaholic, by Pins out of Splashing Out, to five wins from 10 starts with over $275,000 in prize money.

2012 Angus Armanasco Stakes Results

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 3 SHOPAHOLIC (NZ) Danny O’Brien Glen Boss 3 57kg $8
2 5 SOFT SAND Colin Little Damien Oliver 1L 10 56.5kg $2.80F
3 4 CUTE EMILY Peter G Moody Craig Newitt 2.75L 9 56.5kg $31
4 11 TWILIGHTING Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Dwayne Dunn 2.95L 11 55kg $9
5 1 ANABANDANA Don Sellwood Craig Williams 3.15L 1 57.5kg $4.80
6 7 NOCTURNELLE Chris Waller Kerrin McEvoy 4.9L 5 55.5kg $10
7 6 SECRET LIAISON Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Jamie Mott 5L 8 56.5kg $41
8 2 BLISS STREET Daniel Morton Steven Arnold 5.1L 7 57.5kg $14
9 10 BELLE OF THE COURT Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 5.85L 4 55kg $17
10 12 INVEST Clarry Conners Nash Rawiller 9.85L 2 55kg $71
11 13 LUCKY SPARKLE Heath Conners Ms Talia Rodder 12.1L 6 55kg $201
9 GREAT DAME Greg Eurell Chris Symons 0
8 AND ROCK John McArdle Danny Nikolic 0